2006-10-11
random reflections
I find myself missing home a bit more. Moreso, I find myself missing the people I used to see on a daily basis. I am not terribly depressed or homesick....I just miss things sometimes.

I sort of feel that I'm beginning to outgrow my military experience. I have about 2 years left so there is still more time left.

Sometimes I look at my life and I feel like a "life nomad". I am sort of wandering aimlessly seeking a new view of life. It's almost like acting, but in a more committed way. Life is really what we make of it. Despite the landscape which our lives play out, I see more and more in small detail how we all have more control than we acknowledge sometimes. Granted things happen out of our control, the positioning we establish is far more in our realm of control.

The pattern of human behavior never stops to surprise me. I often want to think that people would never do a certain thing or would know better than to do this or that, yet watching people do the things they do, still surprises me. It's like watching someone fall into a whole in a road, and watching everyone walking in a line falling into that same whole, although every once and a while someone will miss it.

I think my life is pretty streamlined right now, which I tend to look as a gift. Possibility still seems in arms grasp. I look around and so many people seem to be struggling with the complicated nature of their circumstance.

I think what helps is to be open to learning new things. Trying as best you can not to close off when the tough things test us. Flowing through you instead of trying to keep things out. I said this to someone. As cliche or fortune cookie-ish as it may sound...life is very much a wave. It builds and breaks. Some things we can see coming and others we can't. It is really better to go with the current even if you don't like where it is taking you.

I have sort of done the most to make myself comfortable to live the life that I am living. I've dealt pretty well I think with being alone. I've done what I can to maximize my friendships. I haven't become a recluse, but I've done my best to see what I have and build on that. I've avoided complications and set up my life to work for me. It's worked for me well. I've by no means figured it all out, but right now I think I've done a good job of bringing most of what I want out of life in reach. I just wish that the people around me weren't struggling so much. But who knows, it may not last. People aren't bad off here, but it'd be nice if it didn't seem so hard for some. Life is what it needs to be for each of us. Ups and down for some, tripple back flips for others.

___________________


Yafro Moblog