2006-10-23
Austin, CSS, Ladytron and more..
So I made it to Austin this weekend, no thanks to the bunch of things that kind of didn't go to plan. It took me a lot longer to get there. It wasn't the six hours mapquest said it'd be, not to mention I sped doing 90 in 70 mph areas and 70 in 50 mph areas. Plus I didn't even get lost and took 3 gas stops, yet it took me almost 8 hours from Fort Polk to Austin.

So i didn't make the film festival, which kind of bummed me out, but there were other things to make up for it.

The concert which I did make, rocked. CSS was pretty good, and I came to fall in love with their lead singer Lovefoxxx...a very spirited young woman, of Brazilian and Japanese decent. I've seen pics of her, but in person, I'd say if there is one person, I'd like to get to know it be her. She's got a cute attitude thing going...don't know how else to describe it. Something about her that I find very alluring. What always gets me, is the girls I really like, aren't the type of girls that'd be really be drawn to me. Lovefoxxx definetly has that Je ne sais quoi.

I did meet a girl up there, but it is nothing serious. Her name was Kayla or Kay for short. She had the whole short 60's hair do going on with those black vintage glasses. We met towards the end of the concert and 5 Texas Ice teas later. I felt pretty giddy and social after all those strong, and I mean strong drinks. I am amazed how lucid I was considering the amount of alcohol that went into my dinner-less stomach. We went to club on the infamous 6th street had a few more drinks and then went to the Waffle house and so on. I caught a cab there because I figured it be nice to have a drink and not worry about driving and looking for parking.

Sixth Street reminded me of Bourbon Street. A lot of young people gathered, hooking up with other young people. A very active large crowd. Saw some interesting follks. Saw someone painted red like the devil.

I brought my camera to the concert, but they told me I couldn't take it in, they said it wasn't allowed because it was too professional.... only point and clicks were allowed. I did feel like being smart and saying, I can set it up so all i have to do is point and click, but I left it in their care. So no really good pics, just some lame ones from my phone.

Ladytron was as good as expected. They have this whole, expressionless and not smiling thing going on. It is always interesting to see people with similar interests as you do and see the difference if any from you and them. They can be very da-da-esque.

Overall, a great trip. A lot of unexpected things, good and bad. The worst part was the long 8 hour drive alone. I kind of wanted to talk with someone to pass the time more easily. The only thing to look at on that drive were the numerous number and varieties of road kills i encountered.

___________________


Yafro Moblog