2006-05-22
weekend and Davinci Dissapointment
it seemed like a short weekend. I spent hours trying to type an article which came out terrible...but i thought i took a few good cover photos... my tape recorder seemed to only pick up background noise and not my subject which made the process of transcribing my notes nearly impossible.

I saw Davinci Code and perhaps i was overly anticapating this movie, because i was terribly dissapointed. The movie seemed like the book on fast forward with chapters missing everywhere.

Mostly I felt the movie was somewhat declawed to avoid the controversy.

Its a book filled with plot points and it seemed like a poor effort of trying to fit everything over 2 hours and 15 minutes. I think it would have been better if it had been longer. I know shorter movies can make more money and have more showing but i feel the movie would have been a lot better had it run near 2 hour 45 minutes. I was thinking and the pacing of the whole movie seemed so rushed and so many characters seemed underdevoloped. Those were just some of my many problems with the film... I love Audre Tatou, but i really didn't feel she had the kind of role that her character Sophie had in the book. It's funny that a movie about the cover up of the role of a women in the religion and the fact that in the book, Sophie seemed to equally share the starring role , while in the movie she more or less played second fiddle to Tom hanks Landon character...seems almost to betray the spirit of the book. Sophie seemed more along for the ride and the actions she took in the book were missing to show her more as a partner in uncovering the mystery, instead Langdon seemed take control and was the hero...and really that just seemed wrong. Don't get me wrong it does some things really well, yet i felt the movie fell short on so many levels. Mostly I didn't feel any of the changes enhanced the plot, but seemed more like temporary fixes to things taken out of the book and to somewhat ease the poor pacing of the film.

That is just my over analytical take on the movie.

___________________


Yafro Moblog