2006-01-21
i almost died twice...oh what a night.
Ok it was such a day yesterday... you wouldn't believe it...and all before i deploy... i could have died twice yesterday.

Ok first happened when riding with my Sgt... who has been more off than normal and he ran right through a red light in traffic...and of course the MP's were there and pulled him over after...he just missed it and i wasn't looking at the road while i was in the passanger seat. Plus is Vehicle Registration was expired so the MP's held us there for a half hour...and they took my info down too.. i thought what the fuck I'm just a passanger... i don't think anything will happen to me...but what the hell.

After that, well last night was the Of Montreal Concert...it is a concert experience i won't forget...and not in a good way. It was over in Baton Rouge which is a 3 hour drive. Ok first of all the concert didn't start to 11...why do clubs always do that...they list something starts at a time and they start it 2 hours after so you are waiting...Plus my legs were killing me from the 4 mile in 30 some minute run that morning and all that standing around...

Anyways the two opening acts completely exhausted me, they were so unbareable to watch plus they were so long...they were 35 and 40 minutes long... one was completely unmemorable i don't even remember them...once we got through them...the second group was such a gimmick act that was so bad...imagine if you will the lead singer from The Spin Doctors trying to do funky white boy rapping-weird Al routine..yeah it's funny the first 3 minutes and afterwards it becomes this grinding annoyance...like a pounding in your head..mostly because he wasn't funny at all... best way to describe it...taking something that would make you chuckle and then beating it to death like homey the clown bluggening Ronald Mcdonald to a bloody pulp over and over and over and over and over and over....etc..

Ok now finally at Midnight Of Montreal starts to play...and honestly i am not sure if i was just not in the mood any longer, but i don't think I've ever gone to the concert of a band i liked and left feeling like I don't want to listen to this band again. I felt that way though... they played a lot of songs that weren't my favorites...the ones i did, just didn't sound good live...the sound system was too loud with a over powering base system...it really wasn't geared towards their music....so after all that it left a bad taste in my mouth. It was so crowded and hot too...and people have to constantly move through the crowds and push and rub on you constantly and i think i have developed a clostraphobia complex now.

Not to be mean...well maybe...there was this stinky-sweaty fat cow who kept rubbing up on me in the club...i only despise her cause she had no sense of consideration..she was dancing all crazily and instead of dancing within the space that was available she kept moving people with her uncontrollable and very unco-ordinated dance...plus she was smoking and her smoke kept flying in my face...

The Bathrooms were disgusting....vomit...in sink, vomit in both urinals and toilet...god i feel bad for the person that has to clean that up.

Ok now to the part where i almost died again...

I decided to just drive back after all that instead of staying in Baton Rouge the night... it was 1 am and foggy as hell.

Well once I got through all the Fog and got to Derrider which is right nearto Fort Polk... either a drunk or sleepy driver came into my lane and drove right at me...luckily i was looking out for that each time a driver was coming towards me...i was half expecting to run into a drunk driver in this part of the country...and yes i did... because i was driving defensively and the fact that i was lucky there was space off road to swerve off to.. i swerved off road avoiding a head on collision....i realized it a lot sooner too cause i saw the signs in his driving up ahead... there weren't too many cars coming at me so that is why i noticed when a car would come at me...

It happened so fast... all i know is it was a large Ford Truck either white or tan...couldn't see the plates..

All i could do is continue on to Fort Polk...where i finally hit my bed at 4:30 am this morning....

What a day...could have died 2x but didn't...i think i have an odd sort of luck...it bad good luck...

Here are some pics of the night from my phone...








___________________


Yafro Moblog