2005-12-20
My Picks for Top Albums of 2005
1. Royksopp: The Understanding- I really love this band...One of the few CD's I actually bought this year. The only other two CD's i bought were from Linus the Band and Goodbye July. This band from Norway and in my eyes have put out two different yet groundbreaking albums. This was hands down my favorite album this year.

2. Coldplay: X&Y- I know they are overplayed, but when they first came out this year...I must admit I listened the hell out of them. Overall a good album.

3. The Cardigans: Super Extra Gravity- Ok, most of you probably don't listen to the Cardigans, but know who they are...oddly enough I really loved this album... I listen to many of the tracks often this year.

4. Garbage: Bleed Like Me- Another old favorite who put out another good album...granted not their best album, but this year it stood out in the top 10 for me.

5. Belle & Sebastian: Push Barman to Open Wounds- I've listened to almost every album this bands put out and I don't think i will ever tire of this band. This was more of a compilation of their work...still it had a lot of familiar favorites.

6. Ladytron: The Witching Hour- I really love this band...every album i've listened to has had a couple of real musical gems, the witching hour is no different.

7. Black Eyed Peas: Monkey Business- One of the few popular artists I really liked this year...although I got tired of them somewhat since they were practically everywhere and always playing.

8. Death Cab for Cutie: Plans- Soul meets body is just one of those songs that I played over and over this year.

9. The Doves: Some Cities- A good solid Album.

10. Of Montreal: Sunlandic Twins- Even though it just made my ten, it was a very good and poppy album...

Honorable Mentions:
Sigur Ros- Takk, The Decemberist- Picquresque, My Morning Jacket-Z, Fischerspooner- Odyssey ,The Gorillaz- Demon Days and the Bravery- The Bravery.

Granted I found a lot of bands that were released in 2004 that would have made my top 10, i figure i'd list the bands released this year that i loved , that way it'd be easier to choose and less confusing.

I'm listening to a lot of new stuff right now...unfortunately there are a lot of artists i've found this month with only one or two sonsgs i really like...i generally hate that... i like bands with a large selections of songs to like.

I guess if you look at what I listen to, a couple of popular artists... but not too many. And yeah...not too much rap there if any...there is no G...G...G..G-Unit,hehe.

___________________


Yafro Moblog