2005-02-22
3 heads aren't always better than 1
Oh I am so screwed.

I have to write to turn in a story for the Major that I work for without any of the information I need to put into it.

What happened you might ask? A cluster-fuck happened.

I am a PA person in the army. In the Army there are two types of PA. One is Broadcast the other side Pritnt. I am on the Print side. Our office has 2 broadcast and one print. So the problem is, our company isn't really using the broadcast side, so the Major has them working with me on my side. I have no problem working in groups.

The problem came up when it came time to do a story on the training that was going on. When you write a story the most important thing is the interview.

When I tried to teach my Broadcast brothers what was needed, one of them was quite defensive as if I was insulting his intellegence when I was trying to go over what I needed for the story. THey didn't want to take photos and so I did. I didn't want to do all the interviews because then there would be no purpose for them to be there. I would be doing everything.

So in the dumbest move ever I allowed them to go out and interview people.

The result is that now I need to write a story and I don't have any printable materials to use. My one coworker, who I was trying to convey, the importance of attribution and getting peoples names, well he didn't get one name. And all the info he has is from his own observation.

AHH! I can't put, my stringer observed this in the following training. I needed, " This excercise is helping us react to fire in a combat situation," said Pvt. Joe Schmo.

He is not even the person writing it. How do I write the first hand observation of another co-workers when I am writing it?

And the one person I needed to interview, told me that this guy had interviewed him for a half an hour. And from his notes, he didn't get any comments from the commander of the excercise.

This is so frustrating, I can't even write. The biggest mistake is trying to do a one person job with 3 people.

In the end, it is my fault because I am the only one with a clue of what is supposed to be done. I let my superiors want for me to cross train my coworkers comprimise task at hand.

THink of it as a drawing, three people don't ever draw a picture, one does. Getting 3 to do it will likely result in what I have now.

The problem is, if this was not going to be submitted for publishing, I'd be forced in comprimising my morals and fudging names here and there. I know some people that have, the problem is I am not that way. I hate to say it but I am going to have to turn in a story with huge holes in it and that bugs the hell out of me.

It's like an Architect who has to turn in a blueprint of a building with floors missing.

Sorry I just needed to vent.

___________________


Yafro Moblog