2003-09-01
about Schmidt
Ok my diary has been reduced to what movies I am watching right now. So sad, well I don't care. I watched About Schmidt after work.

It was alright. I kept thinking about getting old and not being able to handle all the wonderful things that come along with aging. There was a certain point made in the movie that sort of made me depressed. Perhaps that is why I really didn't care for the film, don't get me wrong it did get me to thinking but I just felt like I should go kill myself at the end the movie, or what's the point of life. Perhaps I totally misunderstood the movie, but there is this statement he made about how we all get older and we die and the people around us die. Granted I knew this but then he makes a point of when the people who knew us die, there really isn't much left for people to remember about us, and we are ultimately forgotten. It is perhaps a glass is half empty view of things.

I think celebrity in some cases can somewhat delay that a great deal because apart of you will always bein the public conciousness as you become apart of history but even that gets distorted because people don't necessarily study or remember history correctly. I'm not sure being remembered or if making a mark is important, however the ultimate knowledge that even the mark you make on others will fade, well it's kind of depressing for me. Well the movie was good cause it got me thinking but the plot overall kind of dragged. And of course I didn't really come away uplifted.

Well I guess this is all something to think about. I have to get ready for another 1-10 work day.

___________________


Yafro Moblog