2003-03-04
Open to Interpretation
I went to write a note to a friend and found some disturbing notes to a friend. My diaryland friend is Bisexual. I met him online and he is a great guy. He is also Christian. Now there is a lot of bad blood between Christians and Homosexuals. Not with all but many stick to the fact that, it is stated to be a sin to be Gay.

I only wish people like the one who posted these comments would accept that people don't choose to be Gay and that they aren't going against God. One of the people put, " God does not like homosexuality."

I hate when people represent God. Here is my thing, I believe the Bible was God inspired, but I question that every statement of belief came from God or is completely understood by humans and represented correctly. I look at it this way. God could always return and he may expand our understanding. If it doesn't match what's in the Bible I am not going to live and Die by the Bible. I will use my heart and common sense. I choose not to worship the Bible. I think too many people get to literal because they need the tangible rulebook. THe thing with rules are that one, the game can change and thus does the rulebook not need to grow and account for these things? Secondly the bible are words. Words are always open for interpretation. Is it not a limited view to think we completly understanding the entire meaning. Should we not seek to see more than one meaning? So for me I just think you need to be open. So no definitive position can ever be taken because we aren't God and we don't have a direct line to God where he comes and talks to us and explains his interpretations for all his words. Sure prayer is way to connect to God but we aren't his equal and so he doesn't directly talk to us necessarily. Like I said nothing is impossible but this is how my life has gotten me to see things.

I often wonder with people who use the Bible to tell people that Homosexuality is wrong, do they not feel it's odd that God might have such a definitive position on this. Putting aside that God said it's wrong for them, what is really wrong with it? The guy said it is a sign of the end. That sounds like fear to me. I don't fear the end. That is one thing I don't fear. I accept the end may come. I simply try to live and love.

The only thing that really irks me is when people like him judges people about anything not matching their belief system and say they pity us or they will pray for us. I feel that is so childish. It's like when you are a kid and you act snooty and sarcastic. It's very much a powerplay. It's a non constructive and combatitive statement. If they really wanted to help their fellow man and bring some revelation to them, they wouldn't stand above them and preach to them. They would be by their side as their equal. In theatre we play power games where people raise their importance and play on certain levels. It's a very human action. People need to be more aware of their own power games, no matter on what level we always play these games. It's sucks when people use them on topics of importance that are close to people. My interpretation of God is that he wants to bring us together and unite us all as equals. So does not these actions simply fight against his cause. People that claim to be for him and his words, can they not make the goal harder to achieve. I try to never forget that we are imperfect and can be wrong. People always take the position they are right. That is ego in the way. I really wish we could all work on limiting it's hurtful effects on others.

In the end I think of things this way. I want to be a good and understanding person. And I don't want to be closeminded. I don't want to be a shortminded human that would crucify him again. It was man that crucified a God. We comfort ourselves that we were completing his inevitable destination to hell so he could die for our sins. It doesn't get past me that we killed him, humans that is. I always say to myself I don't want to be one of those people that would crucify Jesus if he returned again. THe thing is that a lot of people would do it again without realizing what they're doing. In that sense I wish God would destroy and punish us because I think as a species we've done so much wrong and we need to accept some resposnsibilty. He doesn't because he isn't us and sees what we can't see.

God I hope you exist. I hope you aren't a figment of my imagination. I hope you aren't something we just made up. I don't think I am wrong in thinking that love is the most important thing. I just wish we were enlightened enough to see that and use that knowledge. I often think that with the apple knowledge we simply got facts but no understanding of what to do with the knowledge. I just hope we all live and fullfill our potential and we can all make God proud. PS I think of God in general terms. He can be any name you want to give. It's the general belief in something more, greater than us that brings us together. A name is a human thing. God works on a whole nother level.

That is just more thoughts from the peanut gallery. I accept different beliefs. This is just this beings views. I repeat : I don't represent God, this is simply my interpretation of life. Feel free to have your own.

___________________


Yafro Moblog