2003-03-01
Spent
I feel recently as if I've run out of gas. I am not really depressed and I don't have too much to complain about. Honestly though, I feel weary. I am not sure what it is. I have also been finding myself longing for time alone. I really have found comfort alone. I think the way my life has unfolded as of late, truly has me wanting just to be alone. I guess deep down I am tired of the drama and I am tired of getting upset over things I can't change. I think I really have gotten to the point where I really like being alone because everything is simple and no games are being played and nothing is expected and there is no one to let you down.

Sleeping in a bed that is not your own is quite refreshing. Staying at my parents place, I am sleeping in my old Futon bed which I truly miss. I never slept so good in so long. I actually love my parents place and I love that they aren't here. I love that this place is empty. I love the cool MAnoa breeze. I love the sound of the roaring pond outside the window and the sound of Asian chimes ringing away in the background. Sleep hasn't been so peaceful in so long. I really love the cold air.

I only wish I could sleep more but I know I have to wake up at 6am tomorrow to water the plants, feed the fish, and walk Harriet before I go to work.

I talk a lot and I guess I really get off on having deep conversations with people. I have been thinking recently and I feel lately that I want to be with someone who I don't have to say a word to. I want to be with someone who for a moment can be quiet and comfortable with. Someone I can just stare at and have them stare back and not have to say anything. I was reading about a car they made in Japan that alters the environment to the drivers mood. It changes the music or the temperature and tries to relax you. This got me thinking about a possible story idea. I was thinking I'd like to write about a future setting where a guy is driving to work in his car while his car also delivers a therapy session amongst the traffic to the human. I want to contrast this story with a typical male FAther-son relationship set in a very simple town area with little glimpse of technology. I want to show two very different relationships and how these men find outlets to expressing how they feel. This idea is still a work in progress like most my stories. I have to choose one story idea for my final story. It is really hard because I have a new idea everyday. I am thinking of not going with any of my previous work in my class and going with a new idea. I have this piece titled "Cache" which I have been keeping stored in the back of my mind. It is about this character "Mr. Rogers" He is meant to give you the image of Mr. Rogers but with very different reactions. This Mr. Rogers is a pedophile. The thing with this story is not to focus on the whole moral outrage people face but to look beyond these things in truly trying to find out who this person is and what makes him who he is. This is a story about some neighbor kids who break into the recently deceased Mr. Rogers home. They come across his computer and part of this story is about deconstructing the pieces of data that are on his computer (i.e: his history and cache on his computer) The children learn the truth not only about Mr. Rogers obsession with youth but they find more. They come acrosses little pieces of this man's personality and through pieces of history on the computer they find something else, something that brings some sense of pity, and some of reality to this man. That is all I have so far. I have ideas so far as to what they find out about this man. This is a hard piece to write because many people have adamant feelings towards this, towards war, or even abortion or hate crimes. I decide I know I don't condone any of these things and any heat I take at trying to make a picture of this man I'll accept as a risk. I decided I wanted to write this story as a way to say to people that there isn't anything humans can't do that can't be forgiven or tried to be understood. Also I wanted to point out that while people hate people for their actions, their is always more to them than just their actions and sometimes people need to step outside not only themselves but the anger or hate they may feel.

This piece has sort of spurned out from many different things. Everywhere from people being blinded to reality : (i.e: some of the contestants of American IDol who can't face that they failed or weren't good enough...this time. To the whole Michael Jackson fiasco... to even his friends Oprah critizing him, which I think is wrong of her because last time I checked all that money and Dr. Phil hasn't made her God. I have made my share of jokes regarding him. At this point I feel sad for he and OJ because despite their guilt or innocence there are still humans there. People go about things the wrong way. I am against " An Eye for an Eye" Perhaps that is what has allowed me to take the punishment I have taken in my own life. I keep telling myself I must forgive. I hate it when people judge others and I know I am guilty of this as well, but I try hard to see past my shortcomings and I try not to hate the haters. That is sort of what I want the message of my story to be about. It's also about what we are able to see of a person when we aren't blinded by our hate and shortsightedness. I don't think my message will reach everyone, I'd love to but even Jesus wasn't able to convince humans to love thy neighbor as thy self. I've seriously wondered, if humans were able to get on the same page and truly see some semblence of understanding one another and accepting everyone, if God would then come down and end this.

Well it is getting late and the bed is calling me.

___________________


Yafro Moblog