2003-01-16
Obscure vs. Accesible
Hey, well I went to sleep early like I said. 11:00pm is really early for me. I haven't slept that early in a while, I can't remember when was the last time I did. Well there were things I wanted to mention about yesterday. I had my first English class. It is only one day a week but it is 3 or so hours. It was quite interesting. I am comtemplating writing a novel for my class project. It is a class that focuses on the Form and Fiction. It is upper level class. It seems really fun and I am looking forward to it. There are some interesting people in the class. It was a grind cause I was feeling ill. There was this one boy who just stood out. No, I wasn't checking him out, but when we went around to do introductions he said " I am not going to introduce myself" We wrote something in class, it was a free write of a story. Everyone except him shared what they wrote. Now I know people have demons and fears to face, but why be in that environment if you aren't going to share. The teacher was nice cause he didn't press the guy. Hopefully this guy can come around. I look at people's fears sometimes and I can't understand them sometimes. I can understand people have fears about anything but how can people let them hold them back so much. Listening to everyone, it amazes me how when people introduce themselves, how they try to use big terms or throw big time names authors that they love and come off like the big bad cat's ass. (I thought I'd try my hand at making new catch phrases) I was in a room full of English Majors. I can't be classified as a Liberal Studies major yet cause I am still a Theatre Major. I actually only had 17 credits left to finish my major, sad that I abandoned it at this point huh? Well 12 of them were in theatre history. The GOD DAMNED hardest course that ever existed. Each semester you go all over the world, as you might in History, but there is so much to read and memorize. I swear, at each class we'd have plays to read about that form or just history on that form, on top of that there'd be a book to read almost every night. I don't see how anyone who doesn't study 6 hours a night can get a good grade. I couldn't do it cause, I have other classes as well and I can't handle that and work. If that was the only class I had i could do better. It was just so much. I am not bad at history cause I have gotten A's in history courses. This is History x 100. Unfortunetly I had 4 to get through. I new I'd fail 2 or more and I really didn't want to, since I had already failed twice. It is the only class I've failed so miserably in. So I began looking, and I realized I had taken all the theatre classes I wanted. I found I wanted to write more and I could use many of the classes I have taken towards my Liberal Studies.

My short story actually got a huge response in class, which is always a nice pat to the ego. The real talents, or the one's that built themselves as that, wrote very complex and over my head stories. I am not saying they were bad, they are far superior to what I wrote. I have found that I am not good at crafting subtle meanings in writings. I write big and bawdy. It is sort of like my personality. I write very casually and I try to write things that people can easily grasp. Most serious writers I have met in class, try to be very obscure and mysterious in their writings. I look at it in terms of, if they were writing a movie, mine would be "Robin Hood Men in Tights", and there's would be "The English Patient" Each of those movies are good but they are in such different styles. They are each meant for a different audience but they are both good in their respected areas. My story was about a Trivial boy who smelled a very bad fart at a table with his friends and his one true love. He tries to find out who did it without bringing it up. It is his inner thoughts. All signs points to Jessica his one true love. He can't believe his one true love could produce such and odious scent. His fantasy is shattered and he scrambles to put back the pieces of his love. I basically choose a big fat fart joke which of course drew huge laughs. I look at it this way, cause I want to actually make money one day as a screenwriter. My strength is in using formula comedy, and I simply try to add my own flair to it. The scenario I mentioned, I know doesn't sound like anything special, but it's the words and the way you shape the sentences that allow you to make something your own. I am the only one who wrote something funny in the class. Everyone wrote something serious. Some were really good. Others seemed good but went totally over my heads. I have been thinking about this as a writer. I can appreciate obscure works because overly accessable work becomes boring. A good mix of the two is what I'd like to work myself towards. I want to reach people so in order for that to happen I have to be clear and accessible. Perhaps the great writers are the one who can be obscure, yet also accessible. I think right now I am on one side and the others are on the other. I guess most times my writings comes off as funny because, most times when I write I am happy and am having fun. So it kind of comes off the page. I was feeling sick, but I got the idea and it was making me laugh inside while I was writing it. THat is how I feel when I am on stage, it's just a different forum. I realize also that I don't always write correctly structured, but write many runon sentences, however it has always been my style to write in converstational like dialogue. Most people don't speak in completely grammatical sentences, and I don't write that way. I guess cause I write as I would, if I were speaking. I am happy to be in a writing class again.

___________________


Yafro Moblog