2003-01-09
AQUA MAN
I have read a lot of comics, especially now. I read almost 12 or more a week. Last year I borrowed 124 graphic novels, which are compilation of comics put in a novel for those who don't know. THey are a couple hundred pages. During the summer at one point I read one or even two a night which took me at least 2 or 3 hours. I am really into comics. It sort of died out. I was starting to get tired of reading but then I found it, the comic that has me all a buz. It is Aquaman. Now I know what you are all thinking. I am not talking about the Superfriends Aquaman. I am talking about modern day Aquaman. He is one of the most interesting characters to come around since Batman. I love how they have changed him so much, from the wimpy image he had before. The new Aquaman is an outcast out of his own kingdom. THey want to kill him The animals in the sea attack him. He lost his arm a while back and had a spear hook but now he has a magical water hand, given to him by the lady in the lake. Since he is exiled from the sea amd he needed water while being at the point of death, so he came across this magical lake. The lady of the lake opened her arms to him. There is so much but if any of you decide to pick up a comic I would recommend Aquaman and Batman. Exiles is sort of on and off good. I love it though. X-men titles are fun to read but there are so many and the hole area is sort of bloated. JLA is a fun read. Superman is sometimes a good read but nothing to get all excited about. I like JSA which is sort of old school Justics League. They are sort of the older mirrors of the Justice League. They are put together the same with the older period heroes. If you look at them in terms of function and powers they are pretty much the same. They also have a younger team called the Titans and then there is the really young ones which are the Teen Titans. All these are ok but I think they should get rid of TEEN TITANS and merge it with the Titans. I guess the 12 and 14 year olds need a team too. I like DC more than Marvel. Sure Marvel has Spiderman and Daredevil and the X-men and Avengers. But there is not much growth or change in those series. It is pretty much the same thing. They don't really change it too much. They change the look but they don't change. I like the Avengers but they seem so much like the Fantastic Four. X-men is fun but so much has already been laid out, they have to stick to so much. The reason I like Exiles is that it uses some of the characters or even characters that never existed but might, in certain relaties and it throws out the hole book out the window but it is a little more free for fresh new stories. Then there is Ironman, not sure if it is the little boy in me but I always get suckered into buying it cause the covers look cool. But I am so dissapointed in their stories. The series sucks cause there is never any relevant events going on. it is in my opinon a wasted series. There are series like that, which has the greatest illustrations but the stories are awful. Dialogue is either too trite, sure most comic book dialogue is lame, but there is the kind you can live with and then there is the really bad stuff. But in the end I find the downfall to some comics are just really tired story lines. I think after a certain point things just have to be shaken up. I look at certain shows and feel that way. But the danger with that is that if you change the wrong thing you may ruin the recipe. I think that is why most shows stick with the "Don't mess with it formula". It is safer but sometimes the risk is what can take the show to higher levels and make it truly stand out. But TV isn't about making good shows, of course it is about the Almighty Dollar. No news there. Speaking of making money, I like a Title called "The Power Company" It's not about the electric bill, but about a super hero group in the DC universe. They stand out cause they operate as a business, as a Superheroes for hire. They are mostly new characters and they have one new member who is a long lost gem, FIRESTORM, who just recently joined. They sort of all have these different personalities and they all come across handling the ethics of doing good for profit, it's really interesting. There is some very bad group dynamic which makes for good conflict.

OK well I read a whole bunch tonight and felt like imparting my knowledge upon you all.

I was watching Celebrity Mole in Hawaii on ABC, I taped it, even though I was home so I could watch it later and fast foward the comercials. THat is what I do. I never watched the original show. It is fun watching Celebs. I have no clue who the Mole is. I would love to see Celebrity Survivor or Celebrity Blind date.

___________________


Yafro Moblog