2003-01-09
Titanic 2
Ok well today was interesting. Not really but I did something instead of mope about in my tiny studio. I attempted to do an errand for my folks and drop off a copier at the City dump, but they weren't taking any there, the only place is this landfill in Waianae, which I have no idea where it is, and in Hawaii, Waianae is pretty far. Maybe not in Mainland terms but in HAwaii it's FAR! I didn't go there though. I didn't really feel like a long drive. Instead today was comic book day and I bought a few comics and then I went to Kahala Mall and I bought some late lunch and treated myself to a movie. I decided I am going to stop waiting around for someone to be my movie buddy and just start going by myself again. I sort of hate it though cause I often want to talk about the movie and well It's no fun to talk to myself. I swear I almost chocked cause a trailer came on and it looked like scenes from the original Titanic. It started off saying, A film by James Cameron. Then it showed shots of the Ocean, and then the ever dead at the bottom of the Ocean, the Titanic. And then there was a shot of Bill Paxton. I thought to myself, oh no please tell me they're not making a sequel!!! Worse it showed shots that looked like the one's in the original, and I was pretty much sitting there in disbelief. It was moments like that I missed having Stacy there to make my speechless expressions. Well after all that, turns out not to really be a sequel, but just seemed like James Cameron's attempt to squeeze every last dollar out of his Titanic sucess. For crying out loud James Cameron, you turned down working on T3 to do this? I really think T3 is going to suck balls, and most of that is because there is no Cameron or Linda Hamilton, and even missing Eddie Furlong. For a third picture I just don't find it believable that Arnold can match the more sophistacated and more advanced Terminators. If they did another one without all the characters with a cooler director like Darren Aronofsky, of Pi or Requiem from a dream and just make the story focus on new characters but relating the previous films, I think it would have worked out a lot better. Evem David Fincher would have been a good and different choice. Ok I got off the point there. Anyways this thing is called Ghost Beneath the Sea or something crappy like that. What's worse is they showed a picture of the Titanic underwater but with digital effect of the fleeing people who were on the ship, that were being shown in a ghost-like form. Can we say over dramatization and explotion of the dead and their suffering for Marketing

purposes. It was all about the Titanic experience, 3-D, who gives a shit. The ship sank, deal with it. We all suffered the painful loss of Leo as he held onto KAte Winslet with his dying Breath. Come on now, it's time to let the Titanic rest in peace, you've already milked that cow, now let it have some dignity for christ sake.

Ok on a more personal note, I had a weird dream. I dreampt among a few things that Eminem was trying to teach me to rap. Here's the funny thing, he'd periodically break into rap and there would be music accompaning him, but of course he was alone so the music just sort of came from nowhere. And he kept breaking out into that song that he did for 8-mile. I kind of was embarrased in my dream each time he broke into rap in the crowds. Weird, I know. Well tonight is TV night. Another night alone with me and my Balls, Just me, Lefty, and Mighty Righty.

___________________


Yafro Moblog