2002-12-04
The Chase
Yes, another new look. I thought the Batman could use a break for some room for my other favorite bat. Batgirl. I always loved Barbara Gordon but I really love Cassandra Cain, the current Batgirl. Her story line is so cool plus she's Asian. Yeah! Basically she was raised by this assasin/mercenary type who raised her to be the perfect killer. He was also one of Bruce Wayne's early teachers who taught him some of Bruce's fighting technique. What is cool about her is she had no concept of speech until recently. The portion of our minds we use for speech was never developed when she was young. Cain never taught her how to use language but taught her to communicate by reading body language. Basically she is perfect fighter matched with perfect senses at reading peoples every move. Each of the opponents moves tell there intentions and allow her to be the ultimate fighter. Even Batman considers her the ultimate fighter. She still has a thing to learn about detectiving which the old batgirl "oracle" or babs teaches her with help from Batman. She couldn't speak though until a psychic who she helped changed her brain around so she could speak. All her ability though was stored in that part of the brain. So when the psychic unjumbled her brain as he said, she lost most of her ability. But from some help by this other Mercenary women who Batman consider real Bad news Lady Shiva, she more or less learns most of it back. And she can speak now. But she still does not say much. It really is a great comic and I love reading it.

Ok this is supposed to be a journal about my life so my day was ok. Work was work with some excitement. A movie like police chase of a shoplifter. 4 of us chased this guy maybe a few blocks for stealling some 17 dollar wine. Personally I hate doing things like this. I don't get any pleasure from the thrill as my other co workers do. I actually go to make sure my workers don't hurt themselves. Everyone is going half cocked and I sort of know I am the only clear head out there. I go to make sure that if things go wrong that I am there in support of my coworkers. I let them get there rocks off in pursuing and restraining. I'm a lover not a fighter. Admitidely a lengthy chase down the streets is great excercise, and makes for good drama, I just don't think it is worth it. The guy who stole was very sad and pathetic. He had very little self respect which in the end seemd the saddest. Why go beat down the guy so you can feel better and feel that your job and place is more than it really is. In that sense my coworkers are kind of sad too. I don't get a great feeling of accomplishment or relevence from my jobs as it is, but it is a necessity. I really don't see beating down on others as a good solution. I really don't want my kicks coming at anothers expense. And why kick a man when he is down. But I have to go to make sure my coworkers aren't over there heads and get hurt. Didn't really do a good job though. I was the last out of the store so I was trailing the action. THe shoplifter ran into the middle of the intersection and Sean this guy I work with ran after him into the intersection with traffic. To me that is just plain stupid. A 17 dollar bottle of wine is not worth the risk for a job that I don't really care about. Life is worth more. Sometimes I think they should just become cops if they want to fight and chase people. Even if the guy stole, it doesn't have to be me who judges him and punishes him. I sort of think the act itself is a punishment. This guy isn't Wynona Rider, getting his rocks off of shoplifting. This guy has problems and probably no money and wants to drink himself into a state escape. Hell we all want that at some point. THis guy is down. So why chase him down. My male coworkers sometimes make me cringe at my sex. Acting macho and trying to be something big. So they chase a guy down. Me, no thanks. It is ok in fiction but in real life it really isn't fun because it is at the expense of some really troubled people. And it just seems I am surrounded by this. My job really exposes me to a good portion not all but a lot of the world. I want to write and learn about life and I feel my experience if anything teaches me a great deal. It's odd I sometimes think I am missing some male genes. I am really the only guy among my coworkers that has my outlook on things. I love to look at cars and like to drive but I am not all into all things cars like many guys I come across. I think that is why i don't really relate to many guys. I can mix though I have my great love for basketball to take me so far in conversations. Oh and comics but I think that can be for girls too but I really don't know many except my ex roomie. The shoplifter was 40 year old portugeuse man. He had red bloodshot eyes and was about 5'10. Pretty big, well bigger than me. It was really sad. Perhaps pittying someone is cruel. I mean in some sense you are thinking of them as lower. It's things like that which makes me wonder how is it we allow ourselves to function when surrounded by disfunction. Can we all ignore the problems that much. Of course there is not much on can do to fight or get rid of all wrongs in the world. We aren't Superman afterall. Sorry lame line from Spiderman. I really hated some of those lines in that movie. But going back, it always bothered me that things can't really change. They can in your own circle of people you touch. But you really can't touch everyone and help everyone. Things can never be fixed. Ok well it is obvious I have lost some hope for our world. But like us all I will find some way to block enough to go on.

___________________


Yafro Moblog