2002-11-16
Oracle
I have been spending a lazy day doing something I love to do. Reading Comics. I have mostly been reading issues of Nightwing. I really love Nightwing for a couple of reasons. I can really relate to the human aspects of his life. He has a very complicated relationship with Bruce aka Batman. He has his own style and has to be his own man but the influence of his father is unmissable. I think what I love about the progression of batman is that with all the spinoff titles and characters connected to the Batman mythos, the thing that makes me proud to say I am a great fan is that Batman has grown into a great father figure. he has become more than revenge or vengence but behind all the darkness there is true love that is not evident but is there. I guess why I really love Batman is that he really is a character that displays love. I realize he is a comic book character but he sometimes seems the closest representation of the good in humans. And though in an unreal and exhagerated world, his relationships seem to really mirror real life relationships.

Another funny thing I like in the Nightwing Series is the relationship between Barbara Gordon and Dick Grayson. For those not familiar with these names they are former Batgirl, now know as Oracle and Nightwing, formerly known as Robin. Barbara Gordon as a character is so much more attractive to me now as Oracle. As Batgirl she is a smart and sassy woman. She later becomes crippled after the Joker shoots her and cripples her. I think what I most love is how her character deals with it. In my mind her character turns one of the most terrible things into a platform to something better. THough Barbara can't be Batgirl anymore she doesn't mope around but she adapts, she uses the event to become Oracle. She still has no super power but in the DC universe she becomes the information center and intellegence network for most of the Superheroes. I think as far as character development this is what I love. I love seeing character growth, and people overcoming their greatest tragedies. I often wish people I knew were like that, but it is really rare to find people with such mettle. I know these people exist. I just wish more people had the strength within themselves to turn things around and excel from their tragedies. I find girls I meet, the thing I want most is to find someone of great personal inner strength. I don't want to carry someone or vice versa. It is so attractive to meet an equal. To have neither need one another, with only love, keeping two people together is my idea of the greatest romance. I think I am ready for a relationship when it comes. I won't force the subject but I won't avoid it either. I'll explore all the possibilities. Not that most girls aren't my equal, it's just not everyone is in the same place, I am in this place in my life and I just want someone on the same page. Unfortunetly in life, most of us are on different pages. There are a few that are on the same page, I am not going to try to make it happen anymore with people on different pages, but simply wait till I find the one the right page. If Barbara Gordon was really I'd ask her out in a second, and not because she once looked good in black spandex. I once again must stress I realize the lines between fiction and reality. I hope that to some extent I am not dilluting myself into believing that fiction is simply a reflection of the possibilities of good in life and bad. I think the reason I love drama/acting/writing is that is such a good way to explore these questions.

___________________


Yafro Moblog