2002-11-14
10 things I love about Hawaii
1. It was where I was born and have lived all my life

2. I love the beach and the water, and Hawaii has some of the best beaches in the world.

3. I love to hike and Hawaii has ample of hikes not limited to mountain hikes but also beach hikes.

4. Such a diverse ethnic mix, I have friends in almost every ethnic group, it seems easier to be more ethnically diverse here. I don't focus on ethnicity, I like to just look at everyone as lambs getting ready for the slaughter. We're all in the same sinking ship. Baaah!!!

5. There is an aloha spirit but slowly, with each generation it appears less apparent. For those not familiar with Aloha Spirit it is a term used by hawaii people to describe an outlook on treating each other. People try to be good and show Aloha and goodwill and so forth.

6. Sunny Days, abundant here!

7. The best drinking water of any place I've ever been

8. Outside of Honolulu there is quite a bit of country and less developed areas so visiting the outer islands can feel like visiting the country.

9. I love the feeling of the water. I love diving and snorkeling. I love the feeling of being underwater. It is the one time I feel life is perfect. Just looking up at the world from underwater. I think I was a fish in another life. Hopefully that, and not a floating turd or something lame like that.

10. It is and will always be home, full of memories and gripes.

Are there things I hate, sure, but I realize I live in a pretty great place. I want to leave, not forever but I do want to go and experience more. I love the cold and sometimes It is too hot and humid for my tastes. I'd love to wear more clothes and pants but it usually is too hot for such things. It is really expensive to live in Hawaii and that is another reason why so many people leave and most of the good people they say we've lost. I guess Hawaii's loss is the worlds gain. I don't stick with only asian people but I wonder how it would be living as a minority when I never see myself that way. One thing I always hate is that there really isn't much asian representation in entertainment. Sure there is Margaret Cho and Cho Yun Fat and Michelle Yao and Ang Lee but then not much else. I see one Asian on Mad TV now. Yeah!, Americans realize Asians can be funny! No I am not going to start any new causes but it be cool to see more asians in lead romantic roles, and not Jet Li, no offense but I am sure there are better Asian actors. He is great in action stuff geared towards his strengths, but he speaks horribly. He needs roles where he only moves and says nothing.

___________________


Yafro Moblog