2006-07-17
back
Being back here at Fort Polk has been somewhat depressing, mostly because I think apart of me lives to travel and see new places and being here is just depressing, not due to anyones doing, this place is just like that.

So Miami was a blast. There was good food. I ate Cuban, Japanese, Italian, Mexican and so on. It was nice being in a city again. It is amazing how even though it can be stressful, getting to know a new area is very exciting. The vacation was very much what I needed. I got to spend time with my friend Ellen and she was a great host, and showed me a good time in Miami.

I spent my last night in South Beach and I wish I had spent more time there. It reminded me a lot of Waikiki in a way. I watched the fireworks on the 4th of July there. I definetly made the right choice in going to Miami. I enjoyed Coconut Grove and will try to spend more time there as well.

I got to go snorkeling Key Largo which was nice. I might be kind of biased, but it still doesn't beat Hawaii. I went off and did a lot on my own, which really didn't bother me. Sometimes in my life, I realize there is so much freedom that I kind of don't know what to do with myself. I spent a lot of days, just driving around and walking about. It was nice.

If I go back I will definetly know my way around a lot better and not waste any times going to the places I'd like to go. Great thing about the military, I found a reserve airforce base and a weeks stay cost me only 80 dollars. Although I definetly overspent on a lot of other things...of which I forsee paying for as I am paying off my bills this month.

The only thing I didn't care for in Miami was the many expressway tolls. I think I spent more money on tolls than on my lodging, which I think is directly targeted to tourists who really don't know miami well enough to take the backroads.
That and most of the streets don't have names... there is 158th Ave and 158th St. and 158th Court and what not so it gets confusing if you don't pay attention to what comes after 158...in the beginning I'd be on 158 St when i was supposed to be on 158th Ave and of course I'd be in the wrong place and I just couldn't figure out where i was.

Stuff like that got annoying, but what is a trip without a couple of challenges.

I'm thinking is there is any chance i am still here, next summer I'd like to go somewhere in the Carribean.

Anyways, I'll post some pictures of the trip shortly.

___________________


Yafro Moblog