2005-01-27
long ruck
God I hate ruck marches. We had to carry at a minimum 40 lbs ruck sack on our backs with our Kevlar (helmet), and M-16 on a 6 mile run, walk, march.

Running with all that shit is hell. THrough the walking and marching portions when I had time to think as my weary legs lifted all that weight step after step. I started to think to myself, I will be so happy when I am not in the army and will not have to lift all that weight on my shoulders.

My foot problems continue which made this march more taxing. What also sucks that me and this other soldier and I are the shortest soldiers in the platoon and it really makes a differences on these marches. Taller people really have longer strides and for us shorter people we have to expend a lot more effort to keep up. Most of my Platoon is long and lean. The opposite of me. Things always seem more challenging for me sometimes. Perhaps it's just perceptions, but what if it is just harder for some people?

___________________


Yafro Moblog