2005 January 11
meaning
It's funny I was watching Tour of Duty and something that was said in the episode really struck a cord with me.

There was this scene in a VA hospital filled with injured and diabled veterans. Any ways one of the soldier who had lost his legs cried out, "Why are we there." I remembered seeing a clip on the news, of the People's Choice Awards with Mel Gibson saying that about Iraq.

I guess what struck me and got me thinking,was, no matter how much people or civilization believes it has changed, truth is we are always repeating a cycle.

Somewhere in the lines of war, there is reason. Or else most of us that are in the line of fire at least hope for. People want to do or die for something. They want to die for things to have meaning.

We are interesting beings in that sense. We are complex enough to want meaning and are capable of seeking something to which is very valuable. Yetwe aren't able to steer ourselves through life to get. Or perhaps its the fact that we steer so much of our lives on the course another.

Since I have joined I have faced two sides of the military. The good and the bad. The good part, which most movies are based on, is the real courage I see in many of my fellow soldiers. Its the everyday person like you and me trying to make something to find that something. To do something if either for ourselves or our country. I have seen that good intention and good heart.

I have also seen a lot of shady ness and taking advantage of the system.

Lately I have been struggling with the thought, or more like the notion that I have to serve till 2009. I wonder id I d been better off leaving. The hardest part is going along with the flaws despite the benefits and the growth I have gone through in this experiences.

I am happy about one thing. That is the fact that people do appreiate the AMerican Soldier. THe people seem to realize the difference between the soldier that carries the actions out and the powers that be that actually give these orders.

I am not only happy for myself that this is so but happy for my fellow soldier.

There is a lot more to being a soldier. Even if it is more propaganda or a soldiers own cheering section, it does make so much of a difference knowing that I am supported by the people in the country I live in. Even if most of us feel that this fight is without just cause.

___________________


Yafro Moblog