2003-11-22
Forgiveness
I am kind of brought down by the world around me. i am not sad necessarily about my own life but simply the things I've taken in lately. I found out at Jonathan Brandis died from a suspected suicide. I remember seeing him in Ladybugs, a movie I must admit to liking at the time. And I didn't think he was that bad in the second Never Ending Story. And I remember him from SeaQuest DSV, a show I secretly liked.

I have no idea what was going on in his life that he'd take his own life. I don't know why it just kind of caught me off guard as something that was sad.

The news from Iraq never seems to be good. I know it won't be now, but I wonder about when there will be a time where the news will be better.

I don't care for the reactions I see on TV to the whole Michael Jackson debacle.

I really don't know what to think about that. I am sort of in the boat of I don't really know enough to judge so I won't condemn him for it. I know things look bad and some people would say it's just common sense that he is a child molestor but really, you never know when you're not really involved a situation and you never know what kind of spin could be put on things. It's really hard to trust the news because you have to guard against the slantings of other peoples perceptions.

And if he is guilty, well I think it's unfair to put the burden of all pedophiles on his head. If he does suffer from this than he has a problem and i don't think we should treat him like Hitler or Osama Bin Laden. I sometimes think that the outrage over pedophilia is more of trend type rage that people have been conditioned to have. I am not saying it's right. But I don't see people getting this worked up over murder and or other manner of, loss of life. To me people should have more vigor over people dying or being murdered. It is something that is bad and people should be upset and disturbed but sometimes it seems like such a radical reaction. I understand the scarring of children but people overcome their own tragedies in life on their own, and sometimes I think people overdramatize the victimization of victims.

My mother died when I was young and in my own way I learned to cope with it. She had a drug problem that killed her and I was there for it all. In some ways I always felt that could equally be as damaging as getting molested. Each person comes across their own scarring events and they deal with it. I just don't think people need other people feeling outraged for them. I wouldn't want that for myself. Personally I would rather move on and not dwell in it. Sometimes I think the people that seek justice can actually wound the people that are already hurt. I sometimes think justice is so often misunderstood and that is apart of the problem in the world. One man's justice is another man' 9/11. It is amazing that we have survived for this long with such a diverse set of perceptions. I guess it's all apart of the struggle.

I guess I see things like rape or molestation or even death of a loved one as personal journey for each person to deal with. It is by no means easy or fair but it happens. If Michael did it, the only thing I wish for him is to get help, and If I was there I'd offer my hope that he finds a way to deal with this. That is sadly all I can do. I know my wishing for the destruction of the wrong doer will not fix things. All people at one time or another are in error and have to rely on the forgiveness of others. No matter the wrong, we must all be willing to forgive, especially if there is to be any forgiveness for ourselves

As long as we live, we will make mistakes and things will happen to us. But as long as we a ll draw breath we can overcome things no matter how bad. The possibility is always there but it's the easiest to be blind to. It's truly easy to not to forgive, others and ourselves.

That is how I deal with my greatest tragedy in my life thus far. I didn't give up on life though there were so many times i came close to it.

When we are dead there is no overcoming.

The thing is, bad things happen to us in life and as long as we still live we can overcome it. It doesn't matter if you're 90 or 6, life is life.

The will to push through only can come from within.

It's odd, I don't go to church anymore or practice anything. I went to a catholic elementary and used to go to church 3 or 4 times a week. I left it all behind. I will say this, when it came to Jesus and God, the thing that I latched onto and never let go of, was the notion of forgiveness. Really when I think of it now, that is how I overcame my mothers death. I forgave my mother, myself, everyone. I realized the time I had was all I had and that is the reality of it. I really would have died long ago had I not found that. I think what it was for me was that I realized that feeling was all that really mattered. Forgiving is really something we all must find and something that will always test us.

People are often compelled to judge someone who fails in something that we ourselves wouldn't. It's really hard when it comes to things we think we would and wouldn't do. We are each given choices and may follow different paths. I don't think it is ever fair to judge someone for a mistake we don't think we'd ever make, but we do and that something that is forgivealbe since we are human.

Sometimes people think love is the greatest human emotion, but maybe, just maybe, it's forgiveness.

Maybe.... Who can really say, we all derive what we do out of our own lives.

___________________


Yafro Moblog