2003-10-30
Furries and Plushies...WTF*&@!
I just saw one of the funniest and somewhat disturbing things on TV. I was watching MTV, and this special came on. BTW I think lately looking at my TV watching habits, that I watch too much MTV and VH1. Back to the "special." It was one of those Sex in 2k2 Specials. It was called "Furries and Plushies" or something like that. For those of you who haven't seen it, it was about peoples turn ons to either stuffed animals, I think those are people who are considered plushies. The story mostly focused on people who were Furries. From what I got from this story, people who are "furries" are into dressing up as animals or creatures that have fur, so for this story there was this guy who liked to dress up as a fox. He said it was appart of who he was and his personality. Anyways this also has this deep sexual undertone, where people who are into this scene get a huge turn on by doing it in these costumes. The thing that made me laugh was seeing this guy in a Squirrel costume humping this other person in some kind of animal costume.

It was actually interesting that someone found a way to encorporate sex, in some cases homosexuality, beastiality, childhood nature, anime, S&M, and bondage in some sense and combine it into this thing I saw. It was interesting too because a lot of guys on this special also seemed somewhat gay and the guy they sort of focused on had this fling with another guy in a fur costume but wouldn't acknowledge it as a gay or straight thing but stayed in the realm of the furry scene that he was into. In this Furry world I guess there is no gay or straight.

They also showed this guys mother who seemed utterly mortified and confused as to what was going on with her son. Not to knock what this guy is into, but it did seem somewhat disturbing and troubleing.

Out of some sense that this could be funny I actually thought this might be a good backdrop for a story. I was thinking it might be funny and somewhat insightful to write a play based on a Furry coming out of the closet so to speak to their parents about their furry-ness and how parents who considered themselves modern and open are pushed to the very brink to understand their child. I imagined a scene where the parents who already suspect their child is gay and think that is what they are going to be told when the child comes out of their Furry closets. I would have to write out the scene for you to be able to see the comedy and everything. It's hard explaining my ideas without actually writing it out. It just seems like an interesting idea. I need to think of an general plot theme to add to what this idea would say but i can just think of some scenes in my head and it makes me laugh.

Ok I am tired and I don't think I am making much sense. I can tell as I am writing that my thoughts probably don't make any sense.

One last thing... I thought that in many ways this behavior seemed very rooted in being accepted. THe story showed this whole world and what seems to be peoples comfort in this world along with the inherent turn ons. While watching this I noticed with this group or other groups like Trekkies or what not, where people engulf these entire worlds into their lives, there seems a great want to escape from actual life and to be somewhere, where they feel, love and accepted. I could compare it to my love for my love for comics, although I don't derive any sexual pleasure from my love of comics. I love many forms of fiction but I have always accepted that it wasn't appart of me or my life and i never got any feelings of acceptance or love from it. It was just my observation from the people i saw in this story that they are really running and hiding from life. Which in the end is all of our individual choices. I look at myself and I realize I have been hiding myself. I run away each time I listen to a song and each time I read a comic book. It could be worse though, I could be dressing up as Batman and humping Catwoman, hahaha! Sorry that was insensitive of me. The way I run awayand hide is by living in my head.

Finally I looked it up and I got a link to a transcript to the show with some pictures if any of you are interested. Here it is Furries and Plushies .
___________________


Yafro Moblog