2003-10-15
forums
Ever gone on a forum for one topic or another. I have been reading, on and off, the military discussion forums for infomation and also to get an idea of the types of people i will encounter.

To be honest, some of the people i have come across frighten me, not in a physical manner but i worry because there seems to be such rigidity in the mindsets of some people in this forum. There seems to be no room for seperate thoughts that question the norm. Upon further thought i realized that perhaps that this is a necessity for an army to operate smoothly. One most submit to the majority group mindset while also bringing forth the best one has to offer.

I truly hope i can do this, it's to late to turn back now, but I truly hope I can make it through this experience. I hope i haven't made a truly bad decision for myself. THe wait for basic training is killing me and it seems the longer it is the more doubts fill my mind. I am a pretty openminded person, i think generally i am more for open and free discussion and for respecting others opinion. I am also not that naive to not realize that free thinking in itself can be just as much an obstacle to progress towards just getting things done. I think in the end i am a believer in the middle road, i believe in having freedom of expression but to the point that there aren't too many drivers trying to drive the car.

That was a lame analogy by the way. THat will be my super power. I can create bad analogies, as I yell out in my superhero voice.

I do know one thing, I am not too gungho when it comes to following blindly without any opinions. I am not going to be defiant but I know myself and I know that I might live a long time, bothered by having to stomach 1 dimensional thinking.

___________________


Yafro Moblog