2003-09-06
Need a break
Uhh, I feel rather sluggish. I have working 38-40 hours these past couple of weeks. I can't imagine having to work another 15 tp 20 on top of that.

I want 3 days off with no work. I have to work another 1-10 shift. I hate that shift, although working 8-5 is harder to get up for it is usually worth it more.

One of my coworkers just got fired recently for stealing a pack of Cigarrettes from the store. It was kind of stupid cause he's been working there for so long. I hate our store sometimes. We have lost 4 people this year and none of them have been replaced. We have literally been working understaffed since. Before people would easily average 20 hours there now most of the part timers including myself average 37.5. Fulltime status is 40. They won't give me those few more hours for full time because I get more benefits. To me that is kind of unfair making it so close to full time but not enough to give me the benefits.

On top of that there are days I have to work with only 1 or 2 people on the floor and for the volume our store sells that is pretty tough. We at least at all times need 4 people on the floor and 4 at the checkstands. We are a pretty busy store and running on less makes life more difficult. Our store claims the customers needs come first but we are spread so thin that it really is more difficult helping all the customers.

I had another shitty customer to deal with. I hate when they try to act as if they have some power over you and ask "What's your name?" In this instance I really didn't do anything to warrant that reaction. The person asked me where something was, I told them. She began walking away and then turned around and asked me that as if I offended her. Afterwards I thought, what was her problem. What is she going to tell the manager I did... I didn't help her or was rude? That would be a crock.

People really do suck sometimes. I really wish it was ok to make statements. If I could say something I would say, "Oh please, get a life!" "Go exert your mighty hold over something else that matters, you peon. That's what I would like to say but can't.

___________________


Yafro Moblog