2003-08-26
The Progression
How far has gay cinema and gay themed television come? Quite far, in my opinion.

What is funny is in the past, anything that had a gay theme and was sold to the masses, was considered ground breaking. It really didn't matter if the medium was any good, but it was simply the fact that it "was", which made it stand out. Flash forward many years later and you can watch hours and hours of gay themed shows and movies in the comfort of your own home. Last night I rented 7 DVD's. That is right. I have been slacking in my movie viewing so I thought I would do a crash course back into it. Having 2 days off and instead of doing other things I decided to watch movies. I rented "Red Dirt", "Defying Gravity", "Airplane", "Punchdrunk Love", "Adaptation", "Igby Goes Down", and "About Schmidt."

The first 2 that I watched are Gay themed movies. What a difference between the 2 film. So far I only watched the first 3 I listed. Of the two gay themed films, I would recommend Red Dirt over Defying. Defying was full of sterotyped thinking and the acting was really bad. Red Dirt was truly a quality film. I think nowadays films just throw the I'm gay thing in the film and expect that to hold the film and the interest of it's viewers. However Red Dirt has so many layers and really hangs on it's characters and the multilayers of it's characters. I think Red Dirt really captured the benefits of, less is more. By focusing less on the perceptions of gay, it showed people and it used finding the truth about one's sexuality as more of a garnishment rather than something that bogged down the film. So far I'd say definetly check this film out. I didn't put any other details about the film, as to not spoil it.

___________________


Yafro Moblog