2003-03-20
A change of pace- Comics I love
Well I decided to mix it up a bit. I may not be happy but I'll try not to dwell in it. Let's see how this goes.

Instead of War lets talk about it's other half love.

I am going to discuss my loves. Today is the comics I love and why I love them. I will list my 10 favorites comics.

1. Batman: but of course this has to be the first choice. I love Batman, it's an obvious choice but it's my love. So many great characters have come out of Batman. I'll always relate to the loss of parents aspect in this story. I'll always be able to relate to the helplessness one feels in situations such as that. I totally understand to desire to overcame that inability by willing oneself to change things. That is why I love Batman

2. Exiles: Not only is this one of my favorites but had been the choice for my diary title. As much as I don't wish to live the exile life I still love the comic. It represents my creative side. It's an absurd setting but I love it because it gives you something you don't always read. It's very much a what if comic which a great part of me is about.

3. Green Lantern: This maybe my 3rd choice but it's still a great comic. It's rich with history. This comic has a great to do with will and creativity. That is where the green lantern power really comes from. I love the fall of Hal Jordan who becomes Spectre, the spirit of redemption. I love Kyle Rayner, trying to fulfill a great legacy without any guidance.

4. Aquaman has quickly become one of my favorites. With only 4 issues so far, I love the story. I love that he is outcast. Aquaman is such a brooder, makes me think of Russell Crowe for some reason. I love that he has gone beyond the ocean and has found other mystical waters to lead him on a new journey.

5. Batgirl: She kicks ass. I love her comics. She has slipped a bit though. I think she was one of the most interesting concept character but she's been a bit squandered. I am not talking about ex-batgirl Barbara Gordon. I speak of the new Batgirl. Her inability to speak in the beginning is truly something interesting. I love that she was a former assassin and that Batman considered the perfect fighter.

6. JLA : It's a very mainstream comic but it is very fun and lite comic. It's just generally fun and easily accessible.

7. Nightwing: Perhaps it's the father son dynamic he has with Batman but I really relate to Dick Grayson, aka Nightwing. It is a really underated comic and character

8. Spidergirl: It's funny that I love Spidergirl more than Spiderman. I sort of am tired with the whole Spiderman story. I guess I like this comic because it sort of goes beyond what is already established in the Spider world and moves forward with Fresh new stories.

9. JSA: Some may think of it as JLA for the Grandparents but it is definetly a nice throwback to older heroes. It's just interesting to see the old timers in action

10. Power Company: I am not sure what drew me to this comic, perhaps that it was about a new group of Superheroes who work as a Superhero group for hire. It's different dynamic in comics and I liked that there were new characters to explore.

___________________


Yafro Moblog