2002-12-23
Jump Signs
I was and still considering Skydiving for my birthday. I emailed a couple of places to get the scoop on their rates. The thing that will cost me is if I want pictures or videos. It is 150 just for one. I decided that I wanted to just do it and that the fact I had no video or pictures was ok. I was going to schedule it today for my birthday but I got wind of the story below last night and it has me wondering if this is a sign I shouldn't go right now. Read below an article that is posted from the KITV4 News website:

2 Die In Mokuleia Skydiving Accident

Victims Landed Near Man Working In Yard

POSTED: 6:24 a.m. HST December 23, 2002

UPDATED: 6:38 a.m. HST December 23, 2002

HONOLULU -- A skydiving instructor and his 18-year-old female student were killed Sunday in an accident along Oahu's North Shore.

Officials said the 44-year-old instructor from Drop Zone skydiving company and the woman from Nebraska were jumping in tandem when their single parachute failed to open.

An FAA official said the two were equipped with an emergency chute, which should have opened automatically when their main chute failed to deploy.

Emergency crews said the parachutes were tangled or didn't seem to open in the proper sequence.

The two landed near Fred Chuckovich, who was standing in the back yard of his home in Mokuleia.

Son-in-law Wagner Carvalho said Chuckovich was fixing a gate when he heard a loud noise behind him. Carvalho said the two hit the ground about 50 feet away from Chuckovich.

It happened around 2:30 on Mahinaai Street in Mokuleia.

Police said the tourist was visiting her brother for Christmas.

Officials said the two victims had jumped from an altitude of 9,000 feet from an airplane that took off from nearby Dillingham Airfield.

___________________


Yafro Moblog