2006-07-24
Why We Fight?
I just finished watching this movie called Why We Fight. I found it to be a very interesting and thought provoking movie. Though people may agree or disagree about the subject and whether or not the commentary is colored by right wing liberalism, I think the film has a great deal of relevence to the world we live in.

The portion I found that affected me the most was the reaction of people when they were approached and asked why we fight. I think the thought that really got to me is the undeniable fact that there seems to be a lot more doubt about why we fight. Or the fact that people feel they fight for a reason, but the fact remains that there is an undeniable erosion of trust of whether they are simply being lied to and manipulated.

This is just my opinion and by no means is this true, but I sometimes feel even if it was announced that the people of the US were lied to an manipulated, I feel that there would be no change. Perhaps there'd be a few shufflings and a few people ostrasized, but the end result would simply be a return to business as usual.

I don't think I'd be alone in feeling this way either. Sometimes I can look at something like this and feel so small and insignificant to the larger issues. I can't help but feel that there is nothing i can do but go with the flow. Even if there was someone to hold accountable for this, what could I do? I don't preach any kind of fanaticism, but I think it is common feeling among many people. There seems like there is an undeniable weakness for people to protect themselves from their representitive government and from each other.

I hate the fact that I watch the news or see a movie and honestly I don't feel I can ever completely trust what I see or hear.

Because with every point, there is some bias or distortion.

The way I look at it, if you're on a sinking ship, you might not be too concerned about someone littering, or stealing money...all you care about is trying to find a spot on the lifeboats for you and your family. Its very easy to ignore problems, society seems to run on that principle, ignore problems until you can't anymore.

Though this all sounds like doom and gloom talk, I think what interests me most is the wondering of where it will all lead. I wonder that if even after myself and possibly the generation that follows, what I most want to know is where will it all lead? I feel that is a driving question related to many issues if not all in life.

I would recommend watching this movie, I don't claim it as the gospel truth, and am sure their are slants and distortions, but I think it presents interesting perspective and something to provoke some thought.

I can see people attributing a film like this to no more than propaganda such as Michael Moore's Fahreheit 911, but I think this film/documentary expresses a lot of valid feelings. I have no problem if people don't agree with the messages in this film, but I do think it is very good at conveying a message, important ones at that.

Discussion about the Military Industrial Complex is a large portion of this film. I'd break down the core of the point of this movie is the fact that American defense policies are being highly influenced by the Military Industrial Complex. And just because it has the word military doesn't mean military, but rather it refers to the defense contractors and basically the business or "the money" that is driving the wars and world events rather than the actual needs of the people.

Not an new concept, but an easily ignored point.

I know people might not see this movie or have time, but I have one question and like a response to whoever reads this, "Why do we fight now?"

___________________


Yafro Moblog