2003-12-15
The Abyss
Well I had a better day at work. It was still very busy.

Later tonight I watched the Abyss on DVD, part of my week long 7-dvd marathon.

I never saw it but have been wanting to see it for a long time. I'm glad I finally got to see it.

Anyone who hasn't seen it, I'd highly recommend it. It's really a movie classic. Often when I watch movies I try to imagine the time of when it's been done. THe thing with the abyss is that I think it stands up to films of today. I can only imagine how revolutionary it would have been seeing it at the time of it's release.

I really like films that don't rely so much on cgi or special effects and actually try to make it as real as possible. No matter how good special effects get, it obviously makes things easy but the thing about our modern illusion makers is that it just seems like an obvious illusion of a replica. I don't think it's bad, I just think a lot of movies just turn to it out of convenience. I think when used as a tool instead of the main platform is best.

I just really liked Cameron's film. To me it was a better love story than Camerons Titanic. I really see his love of the ocean in his films. He is truly a great sci-fi movie director. He also produced Steven Soderbergs "Solaris", which actually shares a lot in common with the Abyss. Both are very unconventional but very character driven sci-fi films.

I just really liked it.

___________________


Yafro Moblog